TTU HomeTechAnnounce


Printer friendly format
Congratulations Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky Scholarship Recipients!
Announcing the Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky Scholarship Recipients for 2012-2013 

The Center for Undergraduate Research (CUR) and the Dr. K Scholarship Committee would like to recognize two Texas Tech University undergraduate researchers selected as the first recipients of the Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky Scholarship.  

The scholarship was created approximately one year ago in remembrance of Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky, an assistant professor of Human Development and Family Studies from 2007 until her passing in January 2011.  Both students will receive a $500 scholarship to assist with research efforts and will be recognized during the annual CUR spring banquet: Thursday, April 25, 2013. The two researchers will also present research during the annual Texas Tech University Undergraduate Research Conference: April 22-25, 2013. 

Congratulations to: 

Ms. Erica Barhorst
Psychology Major / Spanish Minor 
Research Project: Spatial Memory of Dancers Compared to Non-Dancers 
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Roman Taraban 

Mr. Daniel Stroud 
Chemistry Major / Biology Minor 
Research Project: Pericyclic Reactions 
Faculty Mentor: Dr. David Birney 

Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky, began working at Texas Tech University as an Assistant Professor of HDFS in 2007. During her time at TTU she excelled in her position and received many accolades. "Dr. K" as many students often referred to her, truly loved research, her students, and instilled her thirst for knowledge in them. Dr. Kulkofsky passed away at the age of 30, on January 13, 2011. Texas Tech University students, faculty, and staff established the Dr. Sarah Kulkfosky scholarship in her honor. 

To join in this effort, contributions can be made:
Texas Tech Foundation, Inc. 
Attn: Alicia Knight
Box 41081
Lubbock, Texas 79409
*checks can be made payable to: Texas Tech Foundation and note in the memo line: Dr. Sarah Kulkofsky Scholarship 

Questions contact: 
Texas Tech University 
Center for Undergraduate Research 

Jeannie Diaz


Center for Undergraduate Research