TTU HomeTechAnnounce


Printer friendly format
$2,500 in Scholarships Available for Graduate and Undergraduate Students
The Texas Tech Faculty Legal Action Association (TTFLAA) invites all Texas tech students to compete for two Academic Scholarships, one valued at $1,500 and the other at $1,000.

The scholarships will be awarded to currently-enrolled undergraduate or graduate students submitting the best original essays on the topic "The Role and Importance of Academic Freedom in the University." 

The TTFLAA was formed in 1985-1986 when then-President Lauro Cavazos sought to replace the existing tenure system with a system of rollover contracts. Academic Freedom and Tenure involve the freedom of faculty and staff in higher education to continue research, create art, and to make it public. The Scholarship was created with money contributed by many faculty members to a fund that might have to be used to challenge the proposed policy in the courts. Since the proposal was later modified, interest from the fund has been used to fund the Scholarships. If a student is not from Texas, out-of-state tuition is waived so that the winner will pay only in-state tuition and fees.

Entries must be no longer than 1,000 words. They must be typed, and include a cover sheet with the submitting student's name. Do not type or write your name on the essay. Students may use MLA-style footnotes with a bibliography at the end. The double-spaced pages of the essay itself must be submitted in three copies by Friday, April 7, 2017.

The essays must also not identify the writer of the essay. The name of the author should be on a cover sheet, a copy of which can be downloaded at the TTU Scholarships web site listed below.

A faculty committee will judge the essays. The TTFLAA reserves the right to publish or otherwise use for academic purposes any essay submitted, and to publish the name and/or photograph of the recipient.

The 2016 winner: Moamem Elmassry, a T.A. in Biological Sciences, was the only scholarship recipient.

Send essay to: Campus Mail Box of Professor William G. Hartwell III, School of Music, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX 79409-2033.

The winner will be announced by Friday, April 21, 2017.

Application forms are available online at, or apply online at the Financial Aid Office (205 West Hall, 806-742-3144).

For further information, you may contact Prof. Hartwell at 806-799-2034, or at

Ben Robinette


School of Music